Religious Education is a core compulsory part of the National Curriculum and responsibility for deciding the RE curriculum is held by the Local Authority through the Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE).  This is an independent body which considers the provision of religious education in the area and sets the locally agreed syllabus for schools to follow.  As part of this guidance, Local Authority schools are required to allow students to have their work in RE accredited with a formal qualification. In both Year 9 and 10, students will receive an extra hour of RE to work towards a GCSE qualification in that subject.  We hope that in addition to recognising their work with a formal award this will also give students experience of external examinations prior to the rest of their exams in Year 11.  We would like to remind you that, under the 1998 Education Act, you have the right to withdraw your child from Religious Studies lessons.  If you wish to do this it must be done in writing and you will need to provide details of where the RE curriculum will be covered outside of school. 


Unit 1: The Study of Religions: Beliefs, Teachings and Practices


Students will study the beliefs teachings and practice of two religions:




            Noble Truths





            Key Beliefs (including Jesus)

            Worship and Festivals

            Role of the Church


There may be the possibility to study other religion if desired, please see Mrs Muller if this is something you would be interested in.


Unit 2: Philosophical and Ethical Studies

Students will studied four of the units below relating to Philosophy and Ethics

Relationships and Families

Religion and Life

The existence of God and revelation

Peace and Conflict

Crime and Punishment

Human Rights and Social Justice



Students sit 2 exams

Both papers are worth 50% of the final GCSE and both take 1 hour 45 minutes.


All exam papers will be taken at the end of Year 11.  There is also no coursework involved in this subject.